REVIEW: The Future Laureates – ‘Here and After’ EP

securedownload

Here and After, the new EP from The Future Laureates, is one that I am approaching with an arched eyebrow and a tuned ear…

“Sinners and Saints” starts off with beats that remind me so much of “Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down” from Fall Out Boy. However, there is a more folksy vibe that kicks in as the song continues. The folk-punk fusion already has me entranced, as I’m sure most listeners will find themselves. Of course, there is also a build-up to the bridge, which brings the song full circle. If this is any indication as to what we can expect from The Future Laureates, than sign me up! “Down” follows later with a similar beat-centered sound, with a style all its own that I’ve found to quite enjoy on repeat. Once again, the bridge steals the show, especially this one, with a vocal harmonies, and the concept of tearing everything down to build it all back up. I daresay that “Down” is my favorite track on the EP, just because of the raw power it contains throughout. I could play it again and again…and I did.

Just looking at the name of the track (“Angela”), I was convinced I was about to sit through an ode to someone’s girlfriend…and I was kind of right. Thankfully, it’s not all slobbery and sad, but quite upbeat, with a fusion of eclectic styles that make the song pretty catchy. While it doesn’t hit quite the same with me as its predecessor, I wouldn’t be quick to dismiss it, as it certainly shows how versatile The Future Laureates can be.

! TFL_HighRes_3786

“Make Believe” has a dreamy quality to it with a story that pulls listeners in. I love how original each note and line feels/sounds. The vocals are also fantastic, with an edgy quality to them that almost remind me of Jason Lancaster (Go Radio, Mayday Parade). Hands down, one of the most notable tracks on the EP, brining to mind the visual of people swaying at a show, all feeling the music, because the bluesy sound featured is not one you hear, but feel.

“Take It As It Comes” is as light as its name hints at. If you want a truly carefree, “don’t stress,” tune, this is it. I motion that this song be played every Monday morning before the stress begins! Filled with honey-sweet instrumentals, soft vocals, and a quirky style that will make even the grumpiest of people smile, who can resist this song?

I had no idea what I was getting into when I hit play on Here and After, but to say I didn’t enjoy each track would be a lie. The Future Laureates have left a lasting first impression that, hopefully, is a great indication of where they are headed as a group. There is a charming acoustic-driven, almost rustic quality to their creation. With their versatility and originality, there is no doubt that we could be hearing some great things from this band very soon.

 

For more on The Future Laureates, please click HERE. Here and After will be released on September 23rd.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “REVIEW: The Future Laureates – ‘Here and After’ EP

  1. […] If you’re wondering what the new EP is going to sound like, now you can read a full review of it on Planet Stereo! […]

What's your take? Let me know in the comments below!