Q&A: Izzy Malik

2098
Some of the most wonderful artists seem to just come out of nowhere, like shooting stars, darting across a pitch black sky. At Planet Stereo, these are the artists that prove to be the most interesting. Izzy Malik, a nineteen year old pop artist who truly shines. After releasing her self-titled debut EP in March, Izzy has catapulted into the earbuds of many listeners. As a teen activist for women’s rights, Izzy ignited a spark with her single and video, “Malala,” a tribute to Malala Yousufzai, the young woman shot by the Taliban for wanting and education.
Not only is she a wonderful artist, but she is endearingly sweet, as many will come to see when reading her interview with Planet Stereo below:
Planet Stereo: Thanks so much for doing the interview. How are you?
Izzy Malik: Thank you for the opportunity! It’s a pleasure, and I’m doing great, thanks! I hope everyone at Planet Stereo is having a wonderful week as well.
 
PS: You recently released your debut self-titled EP. How have listeners been reacting so far?
IM: We’ve been getting a pretty positive response and I’m super stoked about getting it out there to more listeners!

 

PS: What were you most nervous about with the release?
IM: I was pretty nervous about how the fans would like it. Up till then, I’d only released a couple of singles, which had a positive response, but I was still pretty nervous about reaction to the EP as a whole.

 

PS: Shortly after, you played your first gig. How would you describe the feeling you got playing live?
IM: It was absolutely amazing. I had such an adrenaline rush and just didn’t want to leave the stage. After all, I’d been preparing for this ever since my childhood and been dreaming of it since before that even!

 

PS: You have a song about Malala Yousufzai and had a video to go along with it. Why did you choose to focus on her, from a storytelling standpoint?
IM: I thought awareness needs to be brought to Malala’s struggle as well as other girls in the Pakistan going through these issues everyday. We have education so readily available to us in the US, we sometimes take it for granted, so it’s important to remember that there are people out there, like Malala, struggling to have this basic right.

 

PS: Did you enjoy filming the video?
IM: Definitely. It was a great experience. It was a lot of hard work, but we were definitely proud of it in the end.

 

PS: Has Malala reached out to you since the song debuted?
IM: Unfortunately, I haven’t had any personal contact with her. I would love to meet her and I’m sure we’d have a lot to talk about.

 

PS: Even though you’re just nineteen, I think you display some very mature qualities. How do you think that has played into your songwriting?
IM: What I try to do is mix fun, upbeat tunes to meaningful lyrics whenever possible. Also, I like to have some songs that convey a message, for instance, “Malala” is about women’s rights and being an advocate for education. “Smart Is Beautiful” is about celebrating yourself and not being shy of who you are.

 

PS: How would you describe your sound?
IM: I’d say it’s bubblegum pop with country and rock undertones!

 

PS: I know you moved from Pakistan to America. Has that influenced your musical style/songwriting in any way?
IM: I was very young when we came to America, and, sadly, with the deteriorating conditions in Pakistan, it has been harder and harder for me to go back and visit. However, I have a Pakistani/American fusion song in the pipeline! Stay posted for more, we’re super excited.

 

PS: What do you think makes you stand out as an artist?
IM: Ever since I can remember, being an artist is all I’ve ever wanted. Everything I’ve done has revolved around music in some way. Honestly, music means to me so much more than I can ever quantify in words. It’s my life and sometimes I feel it’s the sole purpose of my existence. I have been a fan of many musicians and loved all genres of music with an undying passion. To me, music should not be limited to a certain genre. It is to be enjoyed in every form. I feel it’s that passion for music as a whole that makes me stand out.

 

PS: With all the confidence you have, what advice would you offer young artists looking to make a name for themselves?
IM: Don’t give up, no matter what. Even though things may not look so good sometimes, keep on working hard and dreaming big, and you’ll make it. If you want it enough and work hard enough, it’ll happen. Nothing is impossible. Nobody’s born a Grammy-winner, it’s your work, dedication, and faith in your passion that’ll lead you to success.

 

PS: What do you hope listeners walk away with after listening to your EP?
IM: I hope they walk away happy and confident in themselves, and also feel like putting their dancing shoes on!

 

PS: Any last words?
IM: Thank you so much and to everyone who’s reading this, keep your life full of peace, love, and music. Rock on, everyone.
For more on Izzy Malik and her fabulous music, please click HERE. Also, bonus, check out her awesome cover of 5 Seconds of Summer’s “Amnesia.”
Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What's your take? Let me know in the comments below!