Q&A: Snax Hayes

snax hayes

At just seventeen years old, Snax Hayes is an impressive new face to the music scene. At just ten years old, he began playing music, and then at sixteen, he won Guitar Center’s national drum off. Looking at that, it’s no surprise the musician is headed to Berkeley this fall.

Before he gets back to the back-to-school grind, Snax took the time to chat with Planet Stereo…and even answer some silly questions.

Planet Stereo: Thanks so much for doing the interview. How are you?

Snax Hayes: I’m great! Thank you for having me.

PS: Your new video for “Porsche” has recently been released. Where did the inspiration for the track stem from?

SH: The inspiration for that song came from a girl that I liked  and so did my friend and i had a feeling that this was a song  a lot of people could relate to.

PS: What was it like to film the video?

SH: It was a dream come true! All the hard work I put into the song and to finally watch it all come together in a music video was just unreal.

PS: What can listeners expect in the next year or so?

SH: As we speak, I’m working on an album and more original material, and hopefully, that will lead to a lot of tour dates!

PS: What is your favorite part about going into the studio?

SH: The feeling of excitement, and collaborating with my team is fun as well. Just watching an idea come to life.

PS: Would you mind walking me through the creative process?

SH: Not at all. For me, there’s no true process. I can be anywhere and get an idea, and I just pick up my guitar and start creating.

PS: Can I ask, why the name Snax?

SH: The nickname “Snax,” originated from my brother and his friends because I was always eating everything in sight; I was given the nickname when I was around 9 years old, and from there, it just stuck.

PS: How do you manage to find time to write new material?

SH: Once I have an idea, I try to isolate myself from the world…a.k.a. go in my room and just brainstorm. Inspiration is the key.

PS: You’re going to Berklee in the fall. How are you feeling about taking that next step in your education?

SH: Getting accepted into Berklee was a huge accomplishment for me. I owe it to my mom and older brother; without them, I wouldn’t have made it.

PS: What made you want to attend Berklee?

SH: What made me want to attend Berklee was their outstanding reputation, networking advantage, and just the over-all Berklee experience, which I’ve heard is the best.

PS:  Do you have a favorite song to perform live?

SH: One of my favorite songs to perform live since I was a kid, is a cover song called, “Linoleum,” by a band named “NOFX,” who were another one of my influences growing up.

PS: How did you get involved in music?

SH: Just growing up, watching my older brother play punk rock shows. Punk is honestly what made me want to “play” music, and want to interact with an audience. It finally drove my ambition to learn punk songs and to eventually write them.

PS: If you could work with any artist, past or present,who would it be and why?

SH:  I would’ve loved to work with Kurt Cobain. He started a revolution in the early 90s, and that’s what I’d like to accomplish in this era.

PS: When looking at the current music scene, do you think social media is helping or hindering artists?

SH: Social media is a great tool in my opinion, because you can instantly put out new material that your fans will immediately respond to, and that, to me, is great motivation.

PS: In music, especially with social media coming into play, which do you believe to be more important: quality or likeability?

SH: To me, quality matters.

PS: Before we let you go, here’s some silly questions. Pick one:

    • Real-life Walking Dead or real-life Jurassic Park? Real-life Jurassic Park.
    • Queen or David Bowie? Queen.
    • Good book or good movie? Great movie.
    • Sleep all day or party all night? Sleep all day.

PS: Any last words?

SH: I’m humbled by this opportunity to have my first interview, I look forward to doing this again in the near future..Be sure to keep a eye out for my debut EP.  And last words…”I’ll be back…”(terminator voice).

 

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Q&A: Snax Hayes

  1. Barbara Jansen says:

    Sounds like a talented young man on his way up.

  2. Venessa says:

    What a great interview. He sounds so honest and humble. A refreshing change!! Can’t want for his EP. Good luck to you Snax.

What's your take? Let me know in the comments below!

