Psychemagik Announce ‘Magik Sunset’ Collection


Psychemagik have announced the follow-up to their Magik Cyrkles and Magik Sunrise, Magik Sunset, which will be out on September 4th via Leng Records. As big-time record collectors, the UK duo have developed a reputation as the go-to guys for rare records and samples that you won’t find anywhere else. Their satisfied customers include  2 Many Dj’s/Soulwax, Chemical Brothers, Q-Tip, and Fake Blood amongst many others.

The follow up to Magik Sunrise, and final part of the series, Magik Sunset Part Two is yet another fine selection of tracks mainly released in extremely small numbers, sometimes only on private presses and only reaching specific parts of the world.  Many of the tracks offered little information when searching for the original artists, some were discovered living in remote parts of the US and some had changed their names making the search that bit harder. This long and difficult search took well over a year but at the end of it there was more than enough music to make the album into a two-part finale of the Magik series.

As the compiler, Danny McLewin of Psychemagik says; We accidentally ended up with such a positive responsethat we were left with almost too much quality to cater for one double LP. We ended up with the format beingexpanded to a feast worthy of two editions of double vinyl if only as a respectful nod to the incredible tunes andvibrations being realised, the project simply evolved into two volumes.”

Magik Sunset Part Two will be released on gatefold double LP and Double CD + Digital. Part One is out now and Part Two will be released on September 4th 2015.  As with previous Magik compilations, the gatefold includes some fascinating insights from the original artists, explaining how their life was back when they were writing and recording their respective songs which have been lovingly restored and made ripe for today’s discerning dance fan.

Magik Sunset Part Two Tracklist:

  1. John Keating – In Search of Atlantis
  2. Orchester Ambros Seelos – Mondgesicht
  3. Plaisirs Erotique – Special Ero
  4. Francis Lai – Young Freedom
  5. Glenn – Zeit
  6. Jack Adkins – Sunset Beach
  7. Instrumental Group Cabas – Cry In The Night
  8. Frédéric Castel – Open Up
  9. The Electric Connection – Cry of The Lone Wolf
  10. Fabio Fabor – Idolo Moresco
  11. The Primates – King Kong
  12. Tony Sinclair Orchestra – Walkin’ Through The Night
  13. Trepidant’s – Far Away

Tagged , , , , , , ,

What's your take? Let me know in the comments below!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: