Disturbed Return After 4-Year Hiatus, Announce New Album

disturbed immortalized album

After a four year hiatus, Grammy Award-nominated, multiplatinum hard rock titans Disturbed have announced their return with their sixth studio album, entitled Immortalized, which is set to be released August 21 via Reprise Records.  The lead single, “The Vengeful One,” is out now, along with the accompanying animated video from award-winning filmmaker Phil Mucci. Immortalized is available for pre-order everywhere today, the follow-up to 2010’s gold-certified Asylum, the band’s fourth consecutive #1 on the Billboard Top 200. The album also bookends the group’s four-year hiatus, which gave members David Draiman (vox), Dan Donegan (guitar), Mike Wengren (drums), and John Moyer (bass), the necessary reprieve to make this “imminent and deliberate return.”


“The idea was to leave when we were at our peak, which we were, and to come back when we felt reinvigorated,” asserts Draiman.

“We had basically been going nonstop since 1998,” adds Wengren. “We got to do our own things. It didn’t take too long until the itch started coming back.”

Donegan is quick to agree, claiming, “We wanted to return when we collectively had that fire underneath us. We missed it so much that we could tap into this energy and deliver the right album. We did it on our own terms.”

In January 2014, Draiman, Donegan, and Wengren met for dinner in their hometown of Chicago. Shortly thereafter, without notifying friends, families, or their label, the three began to fly back and forth to each other’s respective home studios for writing sessions, marking the beginnings of Immortalized, and the first time they collectively wrote together since 2001.

“For this album, everything was written in the same room,” Draiman remarks. “It was wonderful experiencing how it used to be back in the day for us. That became apparent in the material, whether it was the passion of the performance, the power being harnessed, or the feelings evoked. We could feel the difference.”

The band also went to Las Vegas’ Hideout Recordings to work with producer Kevin Churko (Ozzy Osbourne, Five Finger Death Punch), with the goal of finding someone they were both comfortable with and challenged by. “Churko did that,” said Donegan.

Of the album, Donegan says, “I think the fans will feel like it was worth the wait. […] We’ve been planning this for the past year and keeping it a secret so we can’t wait to hear the response. I hope fans realize we have a lot more left in us. This album reassured me of that. To be away from it for almost 5 years, get back in a room, write together, and tap into that fire is awesome. Part of me didn’t want to leave the studio! We still have a lot more to say. We still have a lot more to do. We’re returning stronger than ever. I think Immortalized shows that.”

Pre-order the album, including deluxe limited edition bundles HERE.

Immortalized Track Listing:

  1. The Eye Of The Storm
  2. Immortalized
  3. The Vengeful One
  4. Open Your Eyes
  5. The Light
  6. What Are You Waiting For
  7. You’re Mine
  8. Who
  9. Save Our Last Goodbye
  10. Fire It Up
  11. The Sound of Silence
  12. Never Wrong
  13. Who Taught You How To Hate
  14. Tyrant*
  15. Legion of Monsters*
  16. The Brave And The Bold*

* Deluxe Only

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Disturbed Return After 4-Year Hiatus, Announce New Album

  1. […] 11. Disturbed – “The Vengeful One” […]

What's your take? Let me know in the comments below!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: